Date posted: 10/30/2013
Explore the Kennedy Tailing Wheels Park
Kennedy Tailing Wheels Park
The Kennedy Tailing Wheels Park is one of the best examples of gold mining history to be found in the state of California, with a rich and colorful history preserved to be explored by future generations. Although small compared to other mines, it was at one point the second highest ranked gold producing mine, founded in 1848 as a site called Botilleas.
After decades of operation, the mine closed in 1942 because of the war, and, like most others, was not reopened. The Kennedy Mining and Milling Company split apart in 1950, selling its mines, property and land to the last remaining superintendent of the firm, Mark Eudey. Not long later, Mr Eudey and his wife passed over the deeds for Wheels 1 & 2 and their half acre of land to the County of Amador, and a little after that, sold all remaining Kennedy properties to a private resident of the area. In 1961, these owners sold their entire stake in the properties east of Jackson Gate Road to the County, giving Amador County ownership of all four of the mine’s wheels and a strip of land 10ft wide to give an access road to gates 1 & 2. In May 1973, the new Jackson Tailing Wheels Park was dedicated by Congressman Norman Shunway, and from then onwards work began to create a public park with modern facilities but historical significance.
Due to the combined efforts of the City of Jackson, Amador County and the State of California have been able to preserve two of the four wheels, highly significant mementos of a golden age of mining and productivity in the area. The park now has clear signage, a modern kiosk area, artistic mural and a specially designed enclosure for Wheel 4 which is not to be missed. Also located near some nice places to stay in Jackson CA, there are numerous trails and walks within this park explore the history of the area.
(Photo courtesy of Flickr)